Sunday, 24 January 2021

The History of Saint John's Lodge No.1

Please click on the below link to go to this Lodge's Home Page.
http://saintjohnslodgeno1.blogspot.com/
Click on the link below to listen to "In Flanders Fields," as you view this link.





The History of Saint John’s Lodge No.1 located in Mount Pearl, NL, Canada

FREEMASONRY IN NEWFOUNDLAND

1848-1998

A short history which was prepared to mark the 150th Anniversary of Saint John’s Lodge, No. 1 G.L.N.L., by Wallace R. Noel, P.M., O.M.S.


The authorization for the posting of the information on this site has been sought and granted from the Author by the Webmaster. The Author has also granted the Webmaster permission to update and make corrections, as deemed necessary, to maintain the running history of

Saint John's Lodge No.1

To give a better understanding of the history of Saint John's Lodge No. 884, later to become No. 579 in the Registry of the United Grand Lodge of England and now No. 1 in the Registry of the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador, it is necessary to acknowledge some of the history of earlier lodges that existed here and went out of existence and consequently erased by the United Grand Lodge of England's from its book of Lodge Registries.

The first known Masonic Lodge to be held in St. John's, NL was in 1743. It owed its origin to the Provincial Grand Lodge of Boston. It was followed by a second lodge which operated here under that same authority and was formed in 1766. It is worthy of note that neither of these lodges were registered in the book of the United Grand Lodge of England. They were both properly constituted and warranted by and under the authority of the Provincial Grand Master of Boston.
The next Lodge formed here was St. John's Lodge No. 186. It was constituted in St. John's in 1774 with a warrant dated March 24, 1774. It was issued by the Grand Lodge of the Antients (Atholl) and given No. 186. It held its meetings in the London Tavern. The first Worshipful Master was Brother Thomas Todridge, the Senior Warden was Brother Thomas Murphy and the Junior Warden was Brother Peter Snyder. In 1810 its membership was composed mostly of Royal Artillery Men. Its returns to Grand Lodge were intermittent. The Lodge became dormant in 1832 when a fire destroyed its meeting place, its regalia and records. It was erased from the books of the United Grand Lodge of England in 1859.

The next lodge to meet here, even though for a short time, was the Lodge of the Fourth Battalion Regiment of Royal Artillery which was constituted on October 18, 1781 in New York. Upon retiring from New York in 1783, the battalion, and thus the Lodge, came to St. John's. It then moved to Woolwich, England and finally to Quebec. It received a warrant of renewal as a civil Lodge on January 27, 1829 and on the December 27, 1869 it became Albion Lodge No. 2 on the Registry of the Grand Lodge of Quebec. Brother Oliver Goldsmith, a founding member of Saint John's Lodge was also a member of this Lodge.

The next Lodge to be formed was the Lodge of Placentia No. 456 and was warranted in 1784.

Harbour Grace Lodge No. 470, held at Harbour Grace, was warranted April 30, 1785 and erased in 1813 by the United Grand Lodge of England.

Benevolent Lodge No. 247 in St. John's was warranted in March, 1788 by the Grand Lodge of the Ancients (Atholl) and was erased in 1852 by the United Grand Lodge of England.

Town or Garrison of St. John's Lodge No. 249 was warranted March 31, 1782 by the Grand Lodge of the Ancients (Atholl) and lapsed in 1804.

The Lodge of Harmony, Placentia No. 250 was warranted May 2, 1788 and erased in 1815 by the United Grand Lodge of England.
Union Lodge No. 698 was warranted in 1817 and held its meetings in Trinity, NL. It was erased in 1859. The jewels of this Lodge are now in the possession of the Scottish Constituted, Lodge Tasker No. 454.

It is of interest that of the eleven Lodges established in Newfoundland up to 1824, ten of them worked for short periods of time. One Lodge, St. John's Lodge No. 186, survived the longest until it became inoperable in 1832 when it was destroyed by fire.

It has been presummed that some of those early Masonic Brethren, talking among themselves, spoke of how nice it would be to have a Masonic Lodge re-established here. Members from other Lodges were also interested. One member wrote to the Provincial Grand Lodge of Nova Scotia asking what steps were necessary to re-establish a Lodge here. A reply was received. An advertisement appeared in The Morning Post on October 3, 1848 reading as follows: (Digital copies of actual correspondence soon to be added to this WebSite) "A communication having been received from the Grand Lodge of Nova Scotia relating to the re-establishment of a Masonic Lodge in this place. Such MASTER MASONS as are favourable to the proposition will please meet at Avalon Terrace on Saturday evening next, at seven o'clock, for the purpose of preparing an answer, to be sent by the next mail."

The brethren of St. John's met on October 7, 1848 and sent a reply by the next mail. A reply was received before the end of the month. On October 31, 1848 another notice appeared in The Morning Post, reading as follows:

" A communication having been received from the Grand Lodge of Nova Scotia, accompanied by a Dispensation for the re-establishment of a Masonic Lodge in this place, such Master Masons as are favourable thereto will please meet at the Golden Lion Inn, tomorrow (Wednesday) evening at seven o'clock."

At this meeting arrangements were completed and on November 29, 1848, the Lodge was consecrated and dedicated at the Albert Terrace under the authority of the dispensation from Rt. Wor. Bro. the Hon. Alexander Keith, Provincial Grand Master under the United Grand Lodge of England. The first officers were:

Bro. Samuel Archibald Worshipful Master
Bro. William Jenkins Senior Warden
Bro. John Stuart Junior Warden
Bro. D. J. Henderson Treasurer
Bro. William J. Ward Secretary
Bro. Alexander Fraser Senior Deacon
Bro. Thomas Johns Junior Deacon

It appears that the officers acted in their office for a short time only, for on December 27, 1848 (St. John Day), Bro. Oliver Goldsmith was installed as Wor. Master. Bro. Samuel Archibald was the first Master of Saint John's Lodge, but not its first Past Master, as he did not fulfil the requirements of the constitution.

The first candidates were initiated on February 2, 1849. They were William L. Solomon, Patrick Tasker, Thomas H. Newman, and John C. Toussaint. The meeting place of the Lodge was at Hotel Paris, where it met until 1856 when the Lodge moved to new quarters in the upper story of the British Society Hall on British Square.

It should be noted that Bro. William L. Solomon was the son of Simon Solomon who was Master of St. John's Lodge No. 186 in 1798. We have in our Archives a certificate issued by St. John's Lodge No. 186 signed by Simon Solomon as Wor. Master.

The Membership of Saint John's Lodge met regularly in 1849 doing Masonic work and holding a lodge of instruction. It is worthy of note that the first year was a busy one adding twenty-one brethren to its membership bringing it from eleven to thirty-two brethren.

In 1850 Brothers William Jenkins, Alexander Fraser, Robert Prouse, William J. Ward, Oliver Goldsmith, Robert Law, C.F. Tyler, Geo. P. Brown, Edward H.K. Belecher, and John Musson petitioned the United Grand Lodge of England praying that a charter be granted. The prayer of the petition was graciously accorded to with the Charter being dated June 5, 1850 and being numbered 844. Although the Lodge had been working, no record regarding its existence was either on the books of the Provincial Grand Lodge of Nova Scotia or the United Grand Lodge of England. Incorporated in the charter is an endorsement of the fact that the Lodge did exist. This endorsement read as follows “A dispensation for holding the Saint John's Lodge having been granted by the Provincial Grand Master bearing date the ______ the proceedings of the said Lodge from that date are accordingly ratified”.

By Command of the Most Worshipful Grand Master
William H. White, Grand Secretary

With the arrival of the charter the Brethren were pleased to have it and to be working with it on display in the Lodge.

The Lodge did not neglect its social side when on January 21, 1852 it held its first Masonic Ball. Nor was the charitable side neglected. Part of the dues paid by the Brethren were placed in the benevolent fund. This charity was different from that of today.

On June 24, 1858 Wor. Bro. Patrick Tasker who had been Wor. Master for three years announced that Rt. Wor. Bro., the Honorable Alexander Keith, the Provincial Grandmaster for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Newfoundland had appointed him as Deputy Provincial Grandmaster for Newfoundland. He was installed in office on August 6, 1858.

Several Brethren felt that a second Lodge was required in St. John's to meet the needs of prospective candidates who, due to other commitments, could not attend meetings on the first Friday of the month. In October, 1858 they received a dispensation to form Avalon Lodge from the Provincial Grandmaster Rt. Wor. Bro., the Honourable Alexander Keith. Wor. Bro. Patrick Tasker, Deputy Provincial Grand Master, assisted by Past Masters of Saint John's Lodge, consecrated and dedictated Avalon Lodge. They installed Bro. William Valance Whiteway as Wor. Master and he in turn proceeded to invest his officers.

In 1860, His Royal Highness Prince Edward, Prince of Wales visited St. John's (the Prince of Wales was not a member of the craft at that time.) Wor. Bro. Patrick Tasker presented an address of welcome, on behalf of the Brethren of Saint John's Lodge and Avalon Lodge, who attended and took part in the welcome.

On November 2, 1860 the craft was saddened with the news of the passing of our distinguished Brother, Wor. Bro. Patrick Tasker. His funeral was well attended by the brethren of both Lodges. He was laid to rest in the Riverhead Cemetery, Waterford Bridge Road, St. John's, NL.





(Worshipful Brother Patrick Tasker)

On February 21, 1861 a meeting of both Lodges was conveened to elect a Wor. Bro. to replace Wor. Bro. Tasker as Deputy Provincial Grand Master. Wor. Bro. James Shannon Clift was elected. His name was submitted by both Lodges to the Rt. Wor. Provincial Grand Master who appointed him to the office of Deputy Provincial Grandmaster for Newfoundland. At a special meeting of Avalon Lodge, called for that purpose on June 2, 1861, he was installed in office by Wor. Bro. William Valance Whiteway.

The year 1861 is significant for the establishment of the most outstanding Masonic benevolent organization in Newfoundland: the Tasker Educational Fund (now called the Patrick Tasker Educational Fund). In January of that year Bro. J. S. Rutherford gave notice of motion that at the next regular meeting "A fund be formed for the purpose of educating the children of deceased Brethren who had been in full communion with the Lodge." The motion did not come up again until the regular meeting in March. It was ordered to be held over until the next emergency meeting as there was too much business before the Lodge that evening to allow sufficient discussion (Lodge By-Laws of the day stated that the meeting must end at 10:00 PM!). On March 8, 1861 the issue was raised again when Bro. Rutherford spoke respecting his resolution for the establishment of an educational fund. He felt it was an important business matter and wished to have it deferred to a later meeting and it was so ordered by the Wor. Master. The motion came up again at the next emergency meeting, but it was again postponed to the next regular meeting on account of the pressure of business. In July Bro. Rutherford gave notice of motion for the next meeting "That the sum of twenty-five pounds per annum be appropriated from the funds of the Lodge toward educating children of Brother Masons who may have died while members of the Lodge." The motion was duly passed at the regular meeting in August, 1861. At the September meeting a committee was appointed to start the fund. Later, Avalon Lodge joined the fund. It was eventually passed over to a committee made up of members of all Lodges, in Newfoundland, contributing to the fund.

In 1863, the United Grand Lodge of England renumbered its Lodges. Saint John's Lodge became No. 579 and Avalon Lodge No. 776.

In 1864, Saint John's Lodge gave permission for a chapter of Royal Arch Masons to be attached to the Lodge. Dispensation was received from the Provincial Grand Superintendent, Rt. Ex. Comp. the Honorable Alexander Keith on August 4, 1864. However, there was one problem. There was no Excellent Companion here to install the officers. Comp. N. S. Stabb went to Halifax on business and while there he went to see Rt. Ex. Comp. the Honorable Alexander Keith who installed him as Third Principal. He gave him a dispensation to install the officers of the chapter, which he did on September 5, 1865 with Ex. Comp. J. S. Clift as First Principal and Companion C. Wright as Second Principal.

On May 6, 1866 the Grand Lodge of Scotland issued a warrant to form Lodge Tasker No. 454, so named after Wor. Bro. Patrick Tasker. It was erected and consecrated on November 22, 1866 by Wor. Bro. James S. Clift, assisted by Wor. Bro. N. S. Stabb. They installed Bro. W. T. Parsons as Rt. Wor. Master and invested his officers.

The first Lodge outside the city of St. John's, NL still working is Lodge Harbour Grace No. 476 of the Scottish Constitution. Its charter was dated November 4, 1867 and it was erected and consecrated in 1868 by Bro. A. M. McKay, who had been appointed Rt. Wor. Provincial Grand Master by the Grand Lodge of Scotland in the same year. He also installed and invested the officers of Lodge Harbour Grace. At this time he also laid the cornerstone for their temple. On this occasion a contingent from the Lodges in St. John’s travelled to Harbour Grace and presented Bro. McKay with a silver trowel, which is still on display within the entrance way of Lodge Harbour Grace.

On Monday, November 15, 1869 a unique ceremony took place in Saint John's Lodge No. 579, when Hiram Lodge No. 1281 was consecrated and dedicated by Wor. Bro. James S. Clift, Deputy Provincial Grandmaster assisted by Past Masters of Saint John's Lodge. The Wor. Master Bro. George Bishop was installed and his officers invested. Due to poor methods of transportation to the Burin Peninsula area at that time, it was decided that the officers to be invested in Hiram Lodge should come to St. John's, rather than have the Deputy Provincial Grandmaster and some Past Masters go to Burin. This would avoid any unnecessary delay in waiting for transportation back to St. John's, afterwards.

In 1869 with the formation of the Grand Lodge of Nova Scotia, Rt. Wor. Bro. the Honorable Alexander Keith was elected and installed as Most Wor. Grand Master. As a result, the Lodges under the English constitution in Newfoundland found themselves without a Masonic head. A memorial was sent to the Grandmaster in London from the three Lodges praying that the Most Wor. Grand Master, the Earl of De Grey and Ripon K.G. adhered to their request and appointed Wor. James Shannon Clift as District Grand Master. His patent of appointment was read on St. John’s Day December 27, 1870. Bro. C.S. Pinsent was to be installed as Wor. Master of the Lodge. Prior to his installation, Bro. Pinsent was elected as the first District Grand Treasurer.

In May, 1871 District Grand Lodge was formed. Wor. Bro. William V. Whiteway was installed as Deputy District Grand Master and District Grand Lodge officers were invested. Wor. Bro. N. S. Stabb was invested as District Senior Grand Warden, Bro. J.F. Chisholm as District Junior Grand Warden, Wor. Bro C. S. Pinsent as District Grand Treasurer and Wor. Bro. H. J. B. Woods as District Grand Secretary.

District Grand Lodge was but one month old when it was called to consecrate a new Lodge. It was Victoria Lodge No. 1378 of Fortune, NL. For the second time, the ceremony was held in St. John's, NL. An emergency communication of District Grand Lodge was held on July 17, 1871 with Wor. Bro. William V. Whiteway, Deputy District Grand Master presiding, assisted by District Grand Lodge officers. He consecrated and dedicated Victoria Lodge and installed Bro. J. P. Snook as Wor. Master and invested his officers.

A proposition for a Lodge in Grand Bank, NL, to be known as Fidelity Lodge No. 1659, was received by District Grand Lodge and forwarded to London for its warrant from Grand Lodge. A dispensation was issued on November 17, 1875 by Rt. Wor. Bro James S. Clift for Fidelity Lodge to be formed. No applications were to be received or degree coffered until their warrant of constitution was received. The warrant was issued on December 13, 1876 and given No. 1659. On January 2, 1878 Wor. Bro. J.P. Snook, assisted by some Past Masters and with a special commission, consecrated and dedicated Fidelity Lodge. They installed Bro. George R. Forsey as Worshipful Master and invested his officers.

On January 14, 1876 Wor. Bro. A. J. W. McNeily gave notice of motion at District Grand Lodge that at the next communication, of the District Grand Lodge, he would move or cause to be moved for the appointment of a committee to confer with a committee of the District Grand Lodge of Scotland and report to their respective District Grand Lodges as to the feasibility and expediency of a Masonic union under an independent Grand Lodge of Newfoundland.

At the next communication held on March 31, 1871 the motion was moved by Wor. Bro. Moses Monroe, seconded by Wor. Bro. A. Pearce. A committee was appointed.

Rt. Wor. Bro. James S. Clift died on July 16, 1877. He was laid to rest in the Anglican Cemetery, Forest Road. His funeral was well attended by members of the craft.

The matter of a Grand Lodge of Newfoundland again came before the District Grand Lodge on December 26, 1877 and lead to quite a lively debate.
Wor. Bro. William V. Whiteway was appointed District Grand Master by the Grand Master. He was installed on June 12, 1878. by Wor. Bro. Phelps, Master of Saint John's Lodge No. 579 and Wor. Bro. Chisholm, a Past Master of Avalon Lodge. The matter of the formation of a Grand Lodge in Newfoundland came up once more and all Lodges of both jurisdictions voted favourably for it. Rt. Wor. Bro. William V. Whiteway was delegated to lay the matter before the Most Worshipful Grand Master of the United Grand Lodge of England. This he did and in the opinion of that August body the time was inappropriate and the District too weak to be able to run alone. The matter was then discarded.

On August 3, 1876 The Saint John's Chapter Lodge changed its name and jurisdiction. It became Shannon Chapter No. 9 under the Grand Chapter of Nova Scotia. The officers were installed by Excellent Companion J. S. Clift. Excellent Companion Moses Monroe was installed as Most Excellent High Priest.

In 1880 the Masonic Life Mutual Insurance was formed with Wor. Bro. Moses Monroe being its first president.

Masonry expanded to the north when Notre Dame Lodge No. 1907 worked under a dispensation in Little Bay. The Lodge was consecrated and dedicated and its Wor. Master Bro. William B. Payne was installed. Its Warrant was issued on April 22, 1881. It became lost and a new one issued on November 26, 1903.

After a number of attempts to agree on the building of a Masonic Hall, The Masonic Hall Joint Stock Company was formed and on June 11, 1885 a site was agreed on and construction commenced. The cornerstone was laid by Rt. Wor. Bro. William V. Whiteway in due Masonic form on Long’s Hill. (Photos of this event to be soon added to this History) The building was of wooden construction. The Temple was dedicated on December 29, 1885 at noon. That evening Bro. John Pye was installed as Wor. Master of Saint John's Lodge. It became the home of Masonry for the next seven years. It was destroyed by the Great Fire on July 8, 1892. The regalia was saved, however, as it had been removed from the building by a brother.

Masonry spread northward to Twillingate in 1890 when on October 21, 1890 at the courthouse in Twillingate Wor. Bro. R. T. Rankin, Past Master of Saint John’s Lodge and Wor. Bro. John R. McCowan of Avalon Lodge consecrated and dedicated the Lodge. Bro. Andrew Grey was installed as Wor. Master and his officers invested. The warrant of the Lodge is dated May 1, 1890.

The next meeting of Saint John’s Lodge No. 579 was held in the Springdale Street School and later at the Merchant Block, Water Street, St. John's, NL.

On September 22, 1893 the Brethren were called to pay their last tribute of respect to their Wor. Master, Wor. Bro. F. J. Rendell who had passed away. This was the first time the Lodge was called upon to mourn the loss of an incumbent Master.

The Brethren of the day decided to build a Temple to replace the recently destroyed Masonic Hall; this one to be more beautiful than the Structure which had been burned in the Great fire of July 1892. A new site was chosen, and on August 23, 1894 the cornerstone was laid with customary ceremony by the District Grand Master Rt. Wor. Bro. William V. Whiteway, assisted by Bro. A. McKay, Rt. Wro. District Grand Master, Scottish before a large gathering of Masons from both jurisdictions and the general public.

The first meeting in the newly constructed "Masonic Temple" was held by St. John's Lodge No. 579 on November 1, 1895. On April 23, 1897, St. George's Day, the Masonic Temple was formally dedicated to Freemasonry by the two District Grand Masters, District Grand Lodge Officers and a large turn out of Brethren.


(The Masonic Temple located at 6 Cathedral Street, St. John's, NL - 1896)
It was with a sense of loss that the brethren learned of the passing of Wor. Bro. the Honourable Moses Monroe, whose zeal and work for all Masonic Institutions made him an outstanding craftsman. He was buried with full Masonic honours on May 21, 1895 in the General Protestant Cemetery. A monument was erected in his memory by the citizens of St. John's, NL in Victoria Park, St. John's, NL where it stands to this very day.

In 1897, being the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Victoria, a joint committee was formed. In May, Brethren from both jurisdictions took a full share in the festivities.

Rt. Wor. Bro. Sir William V. Whiteway celebrated fifty years in Masonry in November, 1900. To mark the occasion, he was presented with a gold cup by the City Lodges.

In 1901, the Lodge presented Bro. John Jeans with a purse of Newfoundland gold pieces and a suitable address on his completing twenty-five years of service to the lodge as secretary.

In 1903 the District Deputy Grand Masters Association of Massachusetts paid a fraternal visit to St. John's. They were received at a joint meeting of all city Lodges. On their return to Massachusetts they presented a silver cup to their host. It is among the treasures of the Temple. The inscription on the cup reads as follows:

"To the Masonic Fraternal Courtesies, September 1 to 3, 1903. From members of the District Deputy Grand Masters Association of Massachusetts."

On August 22, 1904, Mrs. Moses Monroe presented to the Lodge a portrait of the late Wor. Bro. Moses Monroe dressed in District Grand Lodge regalia which is still hung on the wall of the Lodge Room of the Masonic Temple.

1908 was a historic year for Saint John’s Lodge No. 579, when we celebrated our Diamond Jubilee. On Sunday, November 29 the Lodge met and proceeded in processional order together with members of other Lodges and both District Grand Lodges to the Congregational Church for Divine Service conducted by Bro. Rev. Joseph Thacheray, chaplain of the Lodge.

On Monday November 30, an especial meeting of the Lodge was held in the Temple and Wor. Master Wor. Bro. W. J. Edgar gave an address on the history of the Lodge and Masonry in Newfoundland. On December 2 a special banquet was held in Osborne Hotel. The toast to the Wor. Master, officers, and brethren of St. John's Lodge No. 579 was drank from the loving cup presented in 1903 by the brethren of Massachusetts.

On June 24, 1908 Rt. Wor. Bro. W. V. Whiteway laid down his working tools and passed to the Grand Lodge above. He was initiated on May 21, 1850 in St. John's Lodge. He had presided over the destinies of English Masonry in Newfoundland for thirty years. He was laid to rest with Masonic Honors in the Anglican Cemetery, Forest Road, St. John's, NL.




(Worshipful Brother William Valance Whiteway)



In April, 1909, the Grand Master appointed Wor. Bro. James Augustus Clift as District Grand Master. He was installed on May 17, 1909. St. John's Lodge presented him with an address of congratulations on the honor conferred upon him.

In the same year, a committee looked into the cost of purchasing some plots in the two cemeteries as a means of providing a fitting burial for brethren who, for one cause or another, have no place for their interment. These occupied Plots and two unoccupied Plots are still maintained by the Cemetary Plots Committee of which every Lodge in this District appoints a member representative to serve on an annual basis.
(Editing and Modernization of this Update Completed to this Point) Lodge Carbonear was erected and consecrated on January 6, 1909 in Carbonear by Bro. John Cowan, Rt. Wro. District Grand Master under the Scottish Constitution, assisted by Wor. Bro. C. S. Pinsent, Deputy District Grand Master under the English Constitution. Bro. Dr. Boyle was installed as Rt. Wor. Master and his officers invested.
During the regular meeting of St. John's Lodge No. 579 in May of 1910 the proceedings were interrupted by news of the death of King Edward VII, a Past Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of England. A memorial service was held on May 20. Out of respect for his late Majesty, all the trains and street cars were stopped in Newfoundland for a whole hour.

Masonry continued to grow. Two Lodges under the Grand Lodge of England came into being in the same year. Their warrants were issued on the same date, June 16, 1911. These Lodges are Whiteway Lodge, No. 3541, so named in honour of Rt. Wor. Bro. Sir William Valance Whiteway and his contributions to the Craft in Newfoundland, and Botwood Lodge, No. 3542. Botwood Lodge was consecrated and dedicated on September 18, 1911 by Rt. Wor. Bro. J. Augustus Clift, District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand Lodge officers. Bro Norman Grey was installed as Wor. Master and his officers invested.

On September 6, 1911, Lodge Northclift, No. 1086 was erected and consecrated in Grand Falls by Bro. John Cowan, Rt. Wor. District Grand Master, S. C., assisted by District Grand Lodge officers and installed Bro. Nathaniel Pike as Rt. Wor. Master and invested his officers.

On January 21, 1912, a ceremony took place in the Lodge room of the Temple in St. John's with the gathering of brethren and their ladies. Rt. Wor. Bro. J. A. Clift, District Grand Master addressed the gathering with Bro. C. R. Duder, Rt. Wor. District Grand Master and his District Grand Lodge officers being present together with Lady Whiteway. Mrs. J. A. Clift unveiled the memorial erected in memory of Rt. Wor. Bro. William V. Whiteway, located in the East of the Lodge room, just behind the Master’s chair.

On January 22, 1912 Whiteway Lodge No. 3541 was consecrated and dedicated by Rt. Wor. Bro. J. A. Clift, District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand Lodge officers. Bro. Dr. Herbert Rendell was installed as Wor. Master and his officers invested.

Masonry under the English constitution continued to grow in Newfoundland when a warrant was issued by Grand Lodge on October 21, 1913 for another daughter Lodge of Saint John's Lodge, Clift Lodge No. 3694 to be Located on Bell Island. The Lodge was consecrated and dedicated on December 10, 1913 by Rt. Wor. Bro. J. A. Clift, District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand Lodge officers. Bro. John J. McKenzie was installed as Wor. Master and his officers invested. Rt. Wro. Bro. J. A. Clift was a founding member of Clift Lodge.

In 1914 there were two tragedies: the loss of the Newfoundland and the Southern Cross. The Lodge was called upon to assist those in distress. So serious was the impact that the Grand Lodge of England contributed 300 guineas to the general fund which was raised. In July 1914 the Masonic Fraternity was excited with a visit from Most Wor. Bro. the Duke of Connaugh and Sterthern K. G., Most Wor. Grand Master of the United Grand Lodge of England at a special meeting on July 15, 1914 with an attendance of over 500 brethren. At this meeting an address of Welcome was presented along with a sliver casket adorned by a caribou on the cover and surrounded by a Newfoundland dog at each leg. This was presented by both District Grand Lodges. This was the first visit from a reining Grand Master. He also visited the Lodge in Botwood.

On July 8, 1914 Lodge McKay No. 1129 was erected and consecrated at Bay Roberts by Bro. C. R. Duder, Rt. Wor. District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand officers. Bro. T. C. McLeod was installed as Rt. Wor. Master and his officers invested.

The brethren were hardly over the Grand Master’s visit when war was declared. A farewell gathering took place in the Temple in St. John's on September 30, 1914 to bid farewell to the brethren going in the First Contingent to England. A similar event took place in 1915 when the brethren were presented with a special form of prayer to be used during the war. The brethren of all Lodges in Newfoundland contributed to the establishment of the "Newfoundland Freemasons Ward" of ten cots in a hospital in Southern England. The first to fall on the field of honour was a brother of Saint John's Lodge No. 579.
On January 25, 1915 Bro C. R. Duder, Rt. Wor. District Grand Master, S. C., assisted by District Grand officers, erected and consecrated Lodge St. Andrew No. 1139 and installed Bro. H. E. Cowan as Rt. Wor. Master and invested his officers.

In 1915 Saint John's Lodge No. 579 joined with the other city Lodges in paying for the removal and installation of the pipe organ which was purchased from Mrs. John Ayre by the Masonic Hall Joint Stock Company. The dedication of the organ took place on Friday April 19, 1916 followed by an organ recital and concert.

The Grand Lodge of England celebrated its bi-centennial on June 24, 1917. The occasion was marked by a special Masonic service held in the Cathedral at 3:15 P.M. The sermon was preached by Wor. Bro. Rev. Cannon Bolt, District Grand Chaplain. A special meeting was held on Monday June 25 1917 in the Temple, presided over by District Grand Master Rt. Wor. Bro. J. Augustus Clift. The meeting was attended by both District Grand Lodges and an address on the history of the United Grand Lodge of England was given by District Grand Secretary Wor. Bro. W. J. Edgar.

In 1918 we lost the services of two of our brethren, Bro. R. Wright, our Treasurer, who lost his life on the "Florizel" which ran aground near Capahayden in February. Our long time Lodge Secretary, Bro. John Jeans, passed to the Grand Lodge above in October. In December 1916, he had completed forty years of service as Secretary of the Lodge, a dedication to duty not easily surpassed. He was presented with a Secretary’s gold jewel.

On September 21, 1921 Lodge Hearts Content, No. 1275 was erected and consecrated by Bro. C. R. Duder, Rt. Wor. District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand officers. Bro. A. R. Anderson was installed as Rt. Wor. Master and his officers invested. In November of 2005 the original hand written/painted warrant for this Lodge was found, presumably forgotten, laying on the floor of Avalon Lodge's storage locker. The Warrant was restored by the Grand Lodge Historian, and was presented to Lodge Hearts Content during their 2006 Installation Ceremonies.

With the death of Bro. C.R. Duder, Rt. Wor. District Grand Master, S. C. in the fall of 1922 and our own District Grand Master Rt. Wor. Bro. J. A. Clift in early 1923 both English and Scottish Lodges were left without a District Grand Master.

The Most Wor. Grand Master of England appointed Wor. Bro. John R. Bennett as District Grand Master. His installation marked the first time that Grand Lodge officers came out from England. The Program Master, Most Wor. Bro. Lord Ampthilla, accompanied by several Grand Lodge officers came to St. John's from England to install the District Grand Master which they did on July 10, 1923 at the Methodist College Hall. The Grand Master of Nova Scotia Most Wor. Bro. J. A. Winfield, accompanied by his Grand Secretary Rt. Wor. Bro. J. C. Janes were in attendance.

A meeting of Saint John’s Lodge No. 579 was held on July 11, 1923 with over 200 brethren in attendance at the Temple. The distinguish brethren from England and Nova Scotia were made honorary members of the Lodge.

On November 29, 1923 Saint John's Lodge celebrated its seventy-fifth anniversary when the Past Masters presented the Lodge with a Lodge banner. Wor. Bro. W. J. Edgar gave a revised history of the Lodge, as he did at the sixtieth anniversary. A banquet followed the Lodge meeting. On Sunday, December 2, 1923 the Lodge closed its celebrations with a Divine Service at the Cathedral. Bro. Rev. A. J. Tulk preached the sermon. The service was attended by both District Grand Lodges and a large number of brethren form both jurisdictions.

At the regular meeting of February 5, 1926 a petition was presented from the Brethren in Corner Brook for the formation of a Lodge there. The Lodge agreed to sponsor this Lodge. The Lodge was established on October 4, 1926 as Corner Brook Lodge No. 4832. It was consecrated and dedicated by Rt. Wor. Bro. J. R. Bennett, District Grand Master, assisted by District Lodge officers. Bro. Kenneth M. McDonald was installed as Wor. Master and his officers were invested. Saint John's Lodge No. 579 presented the Lodge with the Ashlars for their brethren to be test themselves upon. A delegation from Saint John's Lodge No. 579 attended the ceremonies of that consecration.

In September, 1933 Wor. Bro. W. J. Edgar, the District Grand Secretary attended in England the Peace Memorial Celebrations of The United Grand Lodge of England. He also attended a meeting of the Lodge of Amity in Poole, Dorset. There he displayed the jewels which belonged to Union Lodge of Trinity. These jewels are now owned by Lodge Tasker No. 454, in St. John's, NL.

In September, 1935 the Lodge mourned the passing of Wor. Bro. W. J. Edgar, who was District Grand Secretary for twenty-five years, and whose labour for the craft was outstanding. Bro. Rev. W. J. Godfrey, our chaplain who literally gave his life in the service of others, also passed to his final reward.

In 1936 Saint John's Lodge No. 579 joined with Lodge St. Andrew and Lodge Tasker No. 454 in celebrating the bi-centennial of the Grand Lodge of Scotland.

In May, 1937 the Lodge joined with brethren in the festivities of celebrating the coronation of their majesties, King George VI and Queen Elizabeth.

In September, 1938 the District Grand Master Rt. Wor. Bro. John R. Bennett and Deputy District Grand Master Wro. Bro. George R. Williams visited the Lodge and gave an account of the celebration which they attended to mark the 200 years of Freemasonry in Canada.

Saint John's Lodge celebrated its ninetieth anniversary on November 27, 1935. The Lodge attended Divine Service at the Gower Street United Church. The Lodge was accompanied by both District Grand Lodges and a large number of brethren from all Lodges. On November 29, at an emergency meeting of the Lodge, Wor. Bro. the Honorable J.S. Currie gave a history of the Lodge. The occasion was marked with several presentations. One such presentation from Wor. Bro. R. W. Jeans was the Secretary's Jewel which was presented to his father Bro. John Jeans at the completion of the latter's forty years of service as secretary of the Lodge.

In June, 1939 their Majesties King George VI and Queen Elizabeth visited Newfoundland. They landed at Holyrood and drove to St. John's. The members of both jurisdictions had an Arch of Welcome erected at the junction of Topsail and Kenmount Roads, where a number of brethren in regalia showed their welcome. (Photo of this event to soon be posted in this spot)
In September, 1939 war was once again declared. On April 10, 1940 a joint meeting and concert was held by all the Lodges at which presentations were made to all the Brethren who had volunteered for service in the armed forces.

In Newfoundland, war service committees were formed to see that certain creature comforts (i.e.cigarettes, reading materials, etc...) were supplied to the Brethren serving overseas.

On October 23, 1941 the District Grand Master, Rt. Wor. Bro. John R. Bennett passed to the Grand Lodge above. His body lay in state in the Temple until the funeral service in the Anglican Cathedral on October 25 after which he was laid to rest in the Anglican Cemetery, Forest Road. At the time he was the oldest living Past Master of St. John's Lodge No. 579.

On October 14, 1942 Wor. Bro. George R. Williams was appointed District Grand Master by the Most Wor. Grand Master. Due to the war, no Grand Lodge officer could come to St. John's for the installation. The Grand Master of Nova Scotia ,Most Wor. Bro. Geoffery Stevens did the installation. Saint John's Lodge was honoured as the ceremony was held under the Lodge banner.

The advent of war had not only brought a great deal of work but also had an increase in expenses entailed in maintenance of the Lodge. In 1944 the By Laws were revised, increasing the application fee to fifty dollars.

In 1945, English Masonry grew in Newfoundland with two new Lodges, firstly, Landfall Lodge No. 6122 in Bonavista. It was consecrated and dedicated by the District Grand Master Rt. Wor. Bro. G. R. Williams, assisted by District Lodge officers. Wor. Bro. R. W. Moyst was installed as Wor. Master and his officers invested. On September 14 the second Lodge, Cabot Lodge at Channel Port Aux Basques, was consecrated and dedicated by the District Grand Master Rt. Wor. Bro. G. R. Williams, assisted by District Grand officers. Wor. Bro. F. B. Hawkins was installed as Wor. Master and his officers invested.

On May 30, 1945 Cryptic Rite, Royal and Select Masters came to St. John’s. Degrees were conferred by a team from Nova Scotia under Right Illustrious Comp. Dr. P. S. Cochrane, assisted by Grand Council officers. A council named Eastern Council under dispensation was erected and Comp. Claude Noonan was installed as Thrice Illustrious Master and his officers invested.

In 1946 Royal Arch Masonry spread west when on January 24 in Corner Brook Shannon Chapter met and under the guidance of its Most Excellent High Priest conferred the Capitular degrees on a large class of candidates. Rt. Ex. Comp. Claude Noonan, Grand King, assisted by Past High Priest of Shannon Chapter instituted Milley Chapter, No. 23 of the Grand Chapter of Nova Scotia and installed Comp. William R. Kent as Most Excellent High Priest and invested his officers. He was a member of Saint John's Lodge No. 579.

In 1947, Scottish Masonry expanded to Corner Brook when the Rt. Wor. District Grand Master Bro. David M. McFarlane, assisted by District Grand officers, erected and consecrated Lodge Lomond No. 1421. Bro. William R. Kent was installed as Rt. Wro. Master and his officers invested. Bro. Kent was a Past Senior Deacon of Saint John's Lodge No. 579.

On September 5, 1947 Chivaldric Masonry came to St. John's when Rt. Eminent Knight, Dr. Perry Cochrane, assisted by some Eminent Knights from Nova Scotia, instituted Beothic Preceptory No. 71 K. T. and Sir. Kt. Claude Noonan was installed as Presiding Preceptor and his officers invested.

Saint John's Lodge No. 579 began its centenary year with an installation on December 29, 1947. The installation was conducted by the Past Master of the Lodge with Wor. Bro. F. R. Clarke as installing officer. Both District Grand Masters with their delegations being present and a large attendance of brethren. Bro. William F. Case was installed as Wor. Master and his officers were invested as follows:

Bro. Reginald W. Moores Senior Warden
Bro. Ralph L. Andrews Junior Warden
Wor. Bro. Albert G. Miles Immediate Past Master
Wor. Bro. Reginald B. Moyst Treasurer
Bro. F. Laurie Woods Secretary
Wor. Bro. Kenneth C. Skuce Director of Ceremonies
Bro. Author G. Dewling Senior Deacon
Bro. Clarence W. Powell Junior Deacon
Bro. Frederick C. Cornick Organist
Bro. Cyril V. LeMessurier Assistant Secretary
Bro. Charles A. Roberts Inner Guard
Bro. Alexander R. D. Brown Steward
Bro. Edwin J. Noonan Steward
Bro. James Butler Tyler

In May, 1948 Saint John's Lodge No. 579 made an application to the United Grand Lodge of England for a centenary warrant. The necessary proof of centenary years of existence was prepared and presented. A centenary warrant was issued to the Lodge by the United Grand Lodge of England. 1948 marks the completion of fifty years of Masonic labour of both District Grand Masters Rt. Wor. Bro. Geo. R. Williams and Bro. David M. McFarlane, a record of service which will be difficult to equal.

On May 24, 1948 at Lewisporte the District Grand Master Rt. Wor. Bro. Geo. R. Williams, assisted by District Grand officers consecrated and dedicated Lewisporte Lodge No. 6670 and Bro. Rev. William B. Perry was installed as Worshipful Master and his officer invested.

The Centenary celebrations began November 29, 1948 when Saint John's LodgeNo. 579, accompanied by both District Grand Lodges and brethren from it's sister and daughter Lodges, attended a service of Thanksgiving at Gower Street United Church. The sermon was preached by Wor. Bro. Rev. William B. Perry, District Grand Chaplain. On November 30, an especial meeting was held at the Synod Hall, Queens Road. The Lodge was opened and official representatives from other Lodges were received. Both District Grand Lodges were separately received. The centenary warrant was presented. A history on Freemasonry in Newfoundland was given by Wor. Bro. K. C. Skuce. On December 1, a banquet was held at Pitts Memorial Hall. On December 2 an “at home” and Grand Ball were held at the Old Colony Club. On December 3 the Master Mason’s Degree was exemplified. On December 12 the annual meeting was held and the Entered Apprentice degree was conferred on Wilfred G. Young. The installation was held on December 27 when Bro. Reginald W. Moores was installed as Wor. Master by the District Grand Master and his officers were invested.

On January 19, 1949 English Masonry expanded in St. John's when St. George's Lodge No. 6739 was consecrated and dedicated by Rt. Wor. Bro. Geo. R. Williams, District Grand Master assisted by District Grand Lodge officers and Wor. Bro. George Giannou was installed as Wor. Master and his officers were invested. This was Avalon Lodge's first daughter Lodge.

1949 was a busy year in Saint John's Lodge with a large number of applications. After the centenary celebrations the Lodge was low on finances. It became necessary to initiate as many candidates as possible and pass them to the Fellow Craft degree. For the first time in the history of the Lodge, three blood brothers were initiated at the same time. They were Bros. Harold, Ralph and Wallace Noel.

In 1949 Royal Arch Masonry expanded here in Newfoundland when on May 13, 1949 a Royal Arch chapter was instituted in Botwood by the Grand King Rt. Ex. Comp. Claude Noonan, assisted by Past Grand Officers. The chapter was named Arklie Chapter, No. 26. Comp. James Arklie was installed as Most Ex. High Priest and his officers invested.

On May 23, 1949 English Masonry expanded with the consecration and dedication of Gander Lodge No. 6860 at Gander by Rt. Wor. Bro. Geo. R. Williams, District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand Lodge officers. Bro. Fred G. Chafe was installed as Wor. Master and his officers invested.

In the fall of 1949 the lodge dues were raised from nine dollars to twelve dollars a year to meet the increase in operating costs in the Lodge.

1950 was also a busy year with Master Mason Degrees clearing the backlog of craftsmen left over from 1949. At our Past Masters’ night Wor. Bro. J. S. Currie, our oldest living Past Master, occupied the chair and with some senior Past Masters in office, conferred the Master Mason’s Degree in ample and impressive form.

At our annual meeting in December after the election of the Master, Treasurer and Tyler for the coming year, Wor. Master Wor. Bro. R. L. Andrews announced that he would install his successor as Wor. Master. On December 27 Wor. Bro. Andrews, assisted by Past Masters of the Lodge, installed Bro. Author G. Dewling as Wor. Master and invested his officers. Both District Grand Masters and their officers were present as well as a large attendance of brethren from sister Lodges. Since this time this level of attendance has become the expected tradition within Saint John's Lodge No. 1.

On April 24, 1951 an impressive ceremony was held, the unveiling and dedication of the Masonic War Memorial in the Masonic Temple in St. John's. St. George's Lodge was opened and both District Grand Lodges were received. It was announced that the unveiling of the Memorial would now be proceeded with. The representatives of ex-service men were lined up. The District Grand Masters and Wor. District Grand Chaplain took part. A hymn was sung, after which the brethren proceeded to the Memorial. The bugler sounded G. Worshipful Brother Lt. Col. Dr. Cluny MacPherson, C.M.G., M.D. addressed the gathering and unveiled the memorial. The District Grand Master, Rt. Wor. Bro. Williams called for Grand Honours which were then given. The bugler sounded the Last Post and Revelry. The brethren then returned to the Lodge room. The Rt. Wor. District Grand Master, Bro. D. M. McFarlane addressed the brethren concerning the Memorial.

In 1951, English Masonry expanded in Corner Brook with the consecration and dedication of West Gate Lodge No. 7805. The ceremony was conducted by the District Grand Master, Rt. Wor. Bro. G. R. Williams, assisted by District Grand Lodge officers on October 26. Wor. Bro. H. M. Batten was installed as Wor. Master and his officers invested.

The Lodge was saddened with the news of the passing of His Majesty George VI in February, 1952. The Craft was in mourning for a space of time.

English Masonry expanded on September 23, 1952 with the consecration and dedication of Canam Lodge No. 7219 in Stephenville by the District Grand Master, Rt. Wor. Bro. G. R. Williams, assisted by District Grand Lodge Officers. Wor. Bro. Frederick J. E. Colbourne was installed as Wor. Master and his officers invested. This Lodge’s name was derived from “Can” of Canada and “Am” of America.

At a meeting in 1954 Rt. Wor. Bro. Geo. R. Williams, District Grand Master, installed Wor. Bro. F. Ronald Clarke as the first Assistant District Grand Master.

On July 28 Saint John's Lodge was honored by an official visit of Rt. Wor. Bro. Sir Sydney White K.O.V.O. P.G.M. Grand Secretary, who accompanied by Rt. Wor. Bro. District Grand Master G.R. Williams. We were also honored by a visit from Bro. the Rt. Hon. Earl Elgin and Kincardine, Past Most Wor. Grand Master Mason of the Grand Lodge of Scotland accompanied by Bro. D. M. McFarlane, Rt. Wor. District Grand Master. Both distinguished brethren were well received and were very pleased with the manner by which Saint John's Lodge No. 579 had exemplified the Master Mason Degree.

In 1954 Royal Arch Masonry expanded to the Burin Peninsula and on September 2 Atlantic Chapter was instituted under dispensation. The institution was performed by Rt. Ex. Comp. Mark B. Davis, Grand King, ably assisted by Grand and Past Grand officers. Comp. George Foot was installed as M. Ex. High Priest and his officers invested.

In 1957 our By-Laws were amended to accommodate the change in shopping night from Saturday to Friday by changing our regular meeting night from the first Friday of the month to the second Wednesday of the month. This also accommodated the change of the weekly holiday from Wednesday to Saturday.

District Grand Lodge held a Masonic Conference at Clift Lodge on Bell Island on May 3, 1958. As part of the activities in the evening, Saint John's Lodge exemplified the Master Mason Degree for the brethren attending the conference.

In 1959 our Wor. Master Wor. Bro. R. C. Day, whose father was a member of Landfall Lodge, wanted to go to Bonavista and to exemplify the Master Mason Degree. The officers expressed their willingness to go to Bonavista and the necessary arrangements were made. On June 5 we drove to Bonavista, lunch was held at Goobies. We proceeded to Port Union where we were accommodated at the hotel. After dinner, we changed clothes and proceeded to Bonavista. We were well received at Landfall Lodge where we exemplified the Master Mason Degree. We returned to Port Union for the night and in the morning we returned to St. John's.

On October 7, 1958 we attended the installation of Bro. Louis John Harnum as Rt. Wor. District Grand Master of District Grand Lodge of Newfoundland under the Grand Lodge of Scotland. He was installed by Bro. the Rt. Hon. Earl Elgin and Kincardine.

Royal Arch masonry celebrated the centenary of continuous Royal Arch Masonry in Newfoundland in August, 1964. Because the original chapter was attached to Saint John's Lodge, at the request of Shannon Chapter No. 9, Saint John's Lodge exemplified the Master Masons Degree before a room full of Masons from many different jurisdictions.

On June 3, 1964 Bro. E. John A. Harnum was installed as Rt. Wor. District Grand Master of the District Lodge of Newfoundland of the Scottish Constitution by Bro. Lord Bruce Most Wor. Grand Master Mason of the Grand Lodge of Scotland in the little theatre of Memorial University. In December Rt. Wor. Bro. Geo. R. Williams resigned as District Grand Master due to poor health.

On May 6, 1965 English Masonry moved north to Wabush, Labrador when Northern Lights No. 8022 was consecrated and dedicated by Deputy District Grand Master, in charge, Wor. Bro. H. D. Macgillivray, M.B.E., assisted by District Grand Lodge officers. Wor. Bro. Frank Robbins was installed as Wor. Master and his officers invested.

On June 25 Wor. Bro. Darrroch Macgillivray, M.B.E., was installed as District Grand Master by Most Wor. Bro. the Rt. Hon. the Earl of Scarborough, K.G., Grand Master of the United Grand Lodge of England, accompanied by some Grand Lodge Officers at the gymnasium of Memorial University. Our Wor. Master Wor. Bro. W. Noel took a minor part in the ceremonies with six other Masters and Past Masters from the seven oldest Lodges escarting the District Grand Master designate into the Lodge room. Our Wor. Master carried in the District Grand Masters’ collar. The installation was followed by a banquet.

We were saddened by the passing of Rt. Wro. Bro. George R. Williams on August 8. He was laid to rest in the Forest Road Cemetery, St. John's, NL where the Lodge membership paid him our last respects.

During the year a notice of motion was given and passed at our next meeting that we would no longer attend Brothers’ funerals dressed in Masonic Regalia unless specifically requested by the family.

A motion passed at the Grand Lodge was discussed in the Lodge concerning part of the obligation. This was agreed to be used in Saint John's Lodge No. 579.

In 1966 the Wor. Master decided we should have a third Steward added to our officers. With a small attendance at our installations, our By-Laws were amended, moving our installation from December 27 to our regular meeting on the second Wednesday in January. With this change in our By-Laws, Wor. Bro. R. T. Abbott was the last Master installed on December 27 and Wor. Bro. W. R. Noel was the last installing Master to install the Worshipful Master on December 27.

On January 18, 1967 Wor. Bro. R. T. Abbott installed Bro. Arthur E. Noseworthy as Wor. Master, assisted by Past Masters of the Lodge and his officers invested. Wor. Bro. R. T. Abbott was the first installing Master to install his successor on the second Wednesday in January. Wor. Bro. A. E. Noseworthy was the first Worshipful Master installed on the second Wednesday in January.

During the summer Wor. Bro. (Art) Noseworthy had a family picnic for the Lodge at his summer residence at Three Island Pond with a large number of brethren attending. The attendance registry of this event is in the archives of Saint John's Lodge No.1. Wor. Bro. James Radford is in possession of video footage of one of the many Family Fun Day Picnic's hosted by Wor. Bro. Art Noseworthy.

The Lodge was saddened with the death of our District Grand Master, Rt. Wor. Bro. Darroch Macgillivray. On September 5 he was laid to rest in the General Protestant Cemetery.

On October 19 the Lodge visited Lodge Harbour Grace where the Master Mason Degree was exemplified. This incidentally was Lodge Harbour Grace's centenary year.

In November, the Lodge visited Clift Lodge on Bell Island when we exemplified the Master Mason Degree.

The Scottish Rite became active in Newfoundland when, on October 28 1967, Centennial Lodge of Perfection was instituted under dispensation by Ill. Bro. Harvey R. Doane who installed Bro. Joseph R. Smallwood as Pursuivant Grand Master and invested his officers.

On July 3, 1968, Saint John's Lodge was honored when the installation of Wor. Bro. James Arklie as District Grand Master was held under our banner at the auditorium of Prince of Wales Collegiate. He was installed by the Rt. Wor. Deputy Grand Master, Rt. Wor. Bro. the Rt. Hon. Earl Cadagon, M.C., D.C., assisted by Grand officers. The installation was followed by a banquet at the dining hall of Memorial University.

Scottish Masonry moved west when on September 7, 1968 Bro. E. John A. Harnum, Rt. Wor. District Grand Master assisted by District Grand officers, erected and consecrated Lodge Cormack No. 1645 at Milltown, Bay D'Espoir. Bro. John MacKay was installed as the Rt. Wor. Master and his officers invested. 1968 was the centenary of the District Grand Lodge of Newfoundland of the Grand Lodge of Scotland. A celebration meeting was held in Bay Roberts.

On May, 29 1969 Bro. Hedley B. Snelgrove was installed as Rt. Wor. District Grand Master of the District Grand Lodge of Newfoundland under the Grand Lodge of Scotland by Bro. Sir Ronald Orr Ewing, Most Wor. Grand Master Mason, assisted by Grand Lodge officers, at the Little Theatre of Memorial University.

On November 28, 1969 Macgillivary Chapter of Rose Croix was formed under dispensation. Bro. Michael E. Power was installed as its Most Wise Sovereign.

Rt. Wor. Bro. James Arklie resigned as District Grand Master effective October 31, 1970. Wor. Bro. Arthur G. Dewling, a Past Master of Saint John's Lodge, was appointed to the office of District Grand Master. On November 16, 1970 he was installed in office by Most Wor. Bro. Rt. Hon. Earl Cadagon M.C., D.C. Pro Grand Master, assisted by Grand Lodge officers in the Cathedral Parish Hall. The installation was held under the banner of West Gate Lodge No. 7085, it being the centenary of District Grand Lodge. The Grand Masters of some nearby Grand Lodges were present for this occasion. The installation was followed by a banquet at the dining hall of Memorial University. A reception was held on November 17, 1970 in the afternoon at the Old Colony Club for brethren and their ladies.

The District Grand Master Rt. Wor. Bro. Arthur G. Dewling led a delegation of brethren and their ladies to London, England. The District Grand Master took with him the warrant of Saint John's Lodge. He left in its place a dispensation so that the Lodge could meet and do Masonic work. On May 7, 1971 Wor. Bro. Cyril V. LeMessurier opened Saint John's Lodge No. 579 in a Lodge room in Freemasons Hall in London, England. A number of Grand Lodge officers attended the meeting. Rt. Wor. Bro. Arthur Dewling occupied the Worshipful Master's Chair for this historic meeting.

The craft was shocked when on January 17, 1972 Rt. Wor. Bro. A. Dewling died of a heart attack. He was laid in state in the Blue Lodge Room of the Temple. A remembrance service was held on January 19, 1972 in his honour. Both Lodge and Chapter rooms were used to accommodate the large number of brethren and visitors present. His funeral was held on January 20, 1972 from St. Thomas’ United Church, St. John's, NL. The Masters of all the Lodges in St. John's acted as the pall bearers. He was laid to rest in the Anglican Cemetery on Kenmount Road, St. John's, NL.

The Most Wor. Grand Master appointed Wor. Bro .J. Gordon Barnes as District Grand Master. He was installed on September 9, 1972 by Rt. Wor. Bro. James Arklie, Past District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand officers, in the Cathedral Parish Hall. A banquet was held at Cannon Sterling Auditorium, located in St. Mary's Anglican Church, on Craigmiller Avenue, St. John's, in honour of this event.

On December 13, 1972 a special ceremony took place in the Lodge room of the Masonic the Temple. The Brethren accompanied by their Ladies, were welcomed by the Wor. Master, Wor. Bro. R.C. Stead. He especially welcomed Mrs. Arthur Dewling. The ceremony began with prayers by Bro. Rev. L. A. Ludlow, Wor. District Grand Chaplain, S.C., followed by a hymn. Rt. Wor. Bro. J. Gordon Barnes, District Grand (English) Master and Bro. Hedley Snelgrove Rt. Wor. District Grand (Scottish) Master. Both District Grand Masters spoke of the friendship of Rt. Wor. Bro. Arthur G. Dewling. The Wor. Master then paid tribute to Rt. Wor. Bro. Dewling. He then requested Mrs. A. Dewling to unveil the painting of Rt. Wor. Bro. Dewling, which she did. A Masonic Ode was sung, followed by prayers by Wor. Bro. George Gruchy District Grand Chaplin, E.C.

1973 was a busy year with expansion in Masonry. On March 3rd the District Grand Master, Rt. Wor. Bro. J. Gordon Barnes, assisted by District Grand officers, consecrated and dedicated Neptune Lodge No. 8465 and installed Wor. Bro. Eli W. Rogers as its Wor. Master and invested his officers in the Anglican Cathedral's Parish Hall, St. John's, NL.

On May 12 the District Grand Master, Rt. Wor. Bro. J. Gordon Barnes, assisted by District Grand officers, consecrated and dedicated Clarenville Lodge No. 8498 and installed Wor. Bro. R. M. Hellier as Wor. Master and invested his officers.

On October 23 Bro. Hedley Snelgrove, Rt. Wor. District Grand Master, S.C., erected and consecrated Lodge Conception No. 1698 assisted by District Grand Lodge officers at the Foxtrap Regional High School. Bro. David Metcalf was installed as Rt. Wor. Master and his officers invested.

On September 11, 1973 Saint John's Lodge celebrated its 125th anniversary. A dinner and dance was held at Hotel Newfoundland and was attended by a large number of brethren and their ladies.Wor. Bro. Neil Chaplin presented the membership of Saint John's Lodge No. 579 with a Commemerative Lodge Banner.

At our regular meeting in September a number of brethren from Lodge of Amity in Poole, England, led by their Wor. Master, paid us a visit. They presented the Lodge with two large ceramic platters which are currently housed in the Vault at the Masonic Temple. They also showed some photographic slides of Poole, England and their Lodge Structure, Amity Masonic Hall. These slides were then presented to Saint John's Lodge No.1.

The Order of the Red Cross of Constantine came to St. John's, NL on August 9, 1974. J. Charles Moore Conclave was instituted by Rt. Em. Kt. F. C. Morrison. Em. Kt. William B. Titford was installed as Most Pursuivant Sovereign and his officers invested.

On January 25, 1975 Bro. Hedley B. Snelgrove, Rt. Wor. District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand Lodge officers, erected and consecrated Lodge Westmoorland No. 1689, Grand Lodge of Scotland, in the Masonic Temple St. John's. Bro. Malcolm N. Butt was installed as Rt. Wor. Master and his officers invested.

On October 20, 1975 Bro. Alexander O. Knight was installed as Rt. Wor. District Grand Master by Bro. Captain Robert Woolridge Gordon of Esselmont, Most Wor. Grand Master Mason of Scotland, at the Little Theatre, Memorial University.

On October 21, 1975 Bro. Alexander O. Knight, Rt. Wor. District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand Lodge Officers, erected and consecrated Lodge Mic-Mac No. 1704 at Baie Verte. Bro. O. Michael Parry was installed as Rt. Wor. Master and his officers invested.

On January 23, 1976 Bro. A. O. Knight, Rt. Wor. District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand Lodge officers, erected and consecrated Lodge Anik No. 1707 in Labrador City. Bro. Duncan R. Bell was installed as Rt. Wor. Master and his officers invested.

On May 21, 1977 Rt. Wor. Bro. J. Gordon Barnes, District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand Lodge officers, consecrated and dedicated Airway Lodge No. 8777 at Gander. Wor. Bro. Daniel Bursey was installed as Wor. Master and his officers invested.
Newfoundland & Labrador Consistory was instituted on May 5, 1979 at St. John's when Bro. Gerald Greenslade was installed as its first Commander in Chief.

A Lodge of Perfection was formed in Bay Robert's named "Whitecoat". The writer is sorry to say he could not obtain its date of institution and the name of the first Pursuivant Grand Master.

The construction of Masonic Park Senior Citizens Complex was begun in 1980 and many Masons looked forward to its completion.

On October 18, 1980 Bro. Alexander O. Knight was installed as Rt. Wor. District Grand Master Mason of the Grand Lodge of Scotland by Bro. Sir James MacKay, Grand Master Mason, assisted by Grand Lodge officers at the Cannon Sterling Auditorium.

Saint John's Lodge continued to maintain its high standards in Degree work and held educational nights. As well, the Lodge continued with its road trips to Lodges outside the St. John's area.

On May 2, 1982 in Trinity, Rt. Wor. Bro. J. Gordon Barnes, District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand Lodge officers, consecrated and dedicated Union Lodge No. 9039 and installed Wor. Bro. J. W. Longherst as Wor. Master and invested his officers.

On December 3, 1983 Rt. Wor. Bro. J. Gordon Barnes, District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand Lodge officers, consecrated and dedicated First Colony Lodge of Installed Masters No. 9099 and installed Wor. Bro. Donald Newell as Wor. Master and invested his officers at Masonic Temple in St. John's. This was the first Lodge of its kind in Newfoundland.

January 1983, Brother Cecil Pelley was placed in the Chair of King Soloman, as Master of Saint John's Lodge No. 579.


On February 2, 1985 Rt. Wor. Bro. J. Gordon Barnes, District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand Lodge officers, consecrated and dedicated Pillars Lodge of Installed Masters No. 9131 at Corner Brook and installed Wor. Bro. F. L. Mitchell as Wor. Master and invested his officers.

On May 5, 1985 Rt. Wor. Bro. J. Gordon Barnes, District Grand Master, assisted by District Grand Lodge officers, consecrated and dedicated Unity Lodge of Installed Masters No. 9145 at Gander and installed Wor. Bro. W. J. S. Strong as Wor. Master and invested his officers.

On September 21, 1985 Bro. Harold G. Ryan was installed as Rt. Wor. District Grand Master of District Grand Lodge of Newfoundland under the Grand Lodge of Scotland by Bro. J. Marcus Humphery of Dinnet, Most Wor. Grand Master Mason, assisted by Grand Lodge officers of the Grand Lodge of Scotland.

On April 7, 1989 Saint John's Lodge made an official visit to Lodge Harbour Grace with Wor. Bro. Arthur E. Noseworthy,, P.M. acting as Wor. Master. We were received in due form and warmly welcomed. Bro. Harold Ryan, Rt. Wor. District Grand Master, accompanied by District Grand Lodge officers, were also received and welcomed.

Wor. Bro. A. E. Noseworthy was accompanied by brethren who had been his officers in 1967 when he had visited Lodge Harbour Grace in its Centennial year. After he assumed the chair Wor. Bro. Noseworthy gave an explanation on the First Degree tracing board. After that the second degree was exemplified in full form. It was well received by the Brethren of District Grand Lodge and Lodge Harbour Grace.

In October 1989 Saint John's Lodge made its longest road trip when it visited Corner Brook Lodge and exemplified the Third Degree under it Wor. Master Wor. Bro. Anthony Baldwin.

The District Grand Lodge of Newfoundland of the Grand Lodge of Scotland made history when on September 8, 1990 Bro. Lloyd V. Hussey was installed as Rt. Wor. District Grand Master by Bro. Sir Gregor MacGregor, of MacGregor, Most Wor. Grand Master Mason, assisted by Grand Lodge officers at Ascension Collegiate School Auditorium in Bay Roberts. This was the first time a District Grand Master was not from a St. John's area Lodge and the first to be installed outside of the city of St. John's.

After much discussion and many ballots, finally on March 12, 1994 on a stormy day in Gander, a casual Chapter was opened in the Masonic Temple with Rt. Ex. Comp. Oliver White as M. Ex. High Priest, Rt. Ex. Comp. Wallace Noel as Ex. King and Rt. Ex. Comp. Gerald Hewitt as Ex. Scribe with about fifty companion being present. M. Ex. Comp. L. C. Armstrong, Grand Secretary and M. Ex. Comp. Fred C. Morrison P.G.H.P. of the Grand Chapter Nova Scotia were also present. The M.E.H.P. gave an explanation for this convocation. It was moved by Rt. Ex. Comp. Noel, seconded by a number of companions that a Sovereign Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons of Newfoundland be formed. This was carried. The election of a M. Ex. Grand High Priest, Rt. Ex. Grand King and Grand Scribe took place, resulting as follows:

M. Ex. Comp. W. Job Parson M.E.G. High Priest
M. Ex. Comp. Robert M. Hellier Rt. Ex. Grand King
V. Ex. Comp. William J. Baldwin Rt. Ex. Grand Scribe

They were obligated and placed in their respective offices. The M.E.G.H.P. then appointed V. Ex. Comp. Colin A. Forward as Grand Secretary and Ex. Comp. Ross Ashbourne as Grand Treasurer. A number of housekeeping motions were passed. The Honorary rank of Past Grand King was conferred on Rt. Ex. Comp. Wallace R. Noel, Rt. Ex. Comp. Ralph White, Rt. Ex. Comp. Reginald Hopkins, Rt. Ex. Comp. Fred Hollet and Rt. Ex. Comp. P. Michael Parry. The chapter was closed.

On May 28, 1994 the Grand Chapter of Nova Scotia held its annual convocation in Newfoundland for the last time at Gander with the installation of Grand officers. The officers of both Grand Chapters were installed at the same time. The Grand Chapter of Newfoundland met after the installation with some housekeeping business being performed and thanks expressed to many visiting dignitaries.

In 1994 Rt. Wor. Bro. J. Gordon Barnes retired as District Grand Master after twenty-two years of active service in the office. Wor. Bro. R. T. Abbott became Deputy District Grand Master in charge. In September, Rt. Wor. Bro. Commander M. B.S. Higham, R.N., P.J.G.W., Grand Secretary visited Newfoundland and had informal meetings in St. John's, Gander, and Corner Brook with the brethren.

Avalon Lodge obtained a dispensation and set up a committee of investigation into the formation of a Grand Lodge of Newfoundland. This committee had a meeting with both District Grand Lodges and presented their findings.

On the evening of March 28, 1995 the brethren came to the Masonic Temple in St. John's to meet and greet the Most Wor. Pro Grand Master Most Wor. Bro. the Hon. Lord Farnham, Rt. Wor. Bro. M. Higham, Grand Secretary, and Rt. Wor. Bro. G. R. Gavin Purser. Saint John's Lodge was honoured to be the Lodge that opened and received District Grand Lodge who received the District Grand Master of the Scottish Constitution and his officers. The Most Wor. Pro Grand Master and his officers were received and saluted. The Most Wor. Pro Grand Master assumed the throne. Wor. Bro. Herman W. Starkes was escorted into the Lodge by seven Masters and Past Masters. He was installed as Rt. Wor. District Grand Master of the District Grand Lodge of Newfoundland A.F.A.M. of the United Grand Lodge of England by the Most Wor. Pro Grand Master. The Rt. Wor. District Grand Master then invested his Deputy and his Assistant District Grand Masters. The District Grand officers were confirmed in office and District Grand Lodge closed. A banquet was held in the Delta Hotel banquet room which was well attended by brethren and their ladies.

Avalon Lodge committee of investigations for a Grand Lodge of Newfoundland visited Saint John's Lodge and gave a report on what they had discovered if a Grand Lodge were to be formed, in Newfoundland and Labrador. The committee answered our questions and a vote was taken with a majority being in favor of forming a Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador.

On September 9, 1995 Bro. Robert. D. C. Taylor was installed as Rt. Wor. District Grand Master of District Grand Lodge of Newfoundland of the Grand Lodge of Scotland by Bro. the Rt. Hon. Lord Burlon, Most Wor. Grand Master Mason, assisted by Grand Lodge officers at Holiday Inn, St. John's.

A meeting of District Grand Lodge was held in Corner Brook on April 26, 1997. The District Grand Master, Rt. Wor. Herman W. Starkes stated in his address that a vote on a sovereign Grand Lodge would be held later this year.

In St. George's Lodge on April 7, 1997 a ceremony was held for the unveiling of the portrait of the late Rt. Wor. District Grand Master, Rt. Wor. Bro. J. Gordon Barnes.

At a regular meeting of Saint John’s Lodge, held on June 11, 1997, a motion was made for the Lodge to be a founding member of the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador and to return our charter to the United Grand Lodge of England. There was quite a discussion. A vote was taken and the result was favourable with more than the required percentage. The Great Lights were closed by Wor. Bro. Wallace R. Noel, our senior active Past Master.

A communication was received from London informing the District Grand Lodge that the United Grand Lodge of England will be recognizing the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and that the Pro Grand Master would, with other Grand Lodge officers, be coming to St. John's for the consecration, dedication and constitution of the New Grand Lodge.

On May 23, 1997 a new branch of Freemasonry was formed here when Terra Neuve York Rite College was instituted by Rt. Em. Kt. G. E. Decker assisted by Em. Kt.'s from Nova Scotia. They installed Kt. Gerald W. Budden as its first governor and his officers invested.

After many years of Masons saying we should have a Grand Lodge of our own here in the province, Avalon Lodge No. 776 of the District Grand Lodge of Newfoundland under the United Grand Lodge of England, requested a dispensation to look into the matter. The dispensation was granted and an investigative committee was formed consisting of the following worshipful brethren: Chairman Melvin A. Miller; Secretary Jeffery C. King; Treasurer C. Frank Rogers; members, Donald E. J. Kelland, Vincent J. Pike, Alfred P. Wilson, and David L. Snow.

This committee held meetings on a regular basis and gathered information on the matter. A detailed summary of all aspects of forming a Grand Lodge was prepared for presentation on each of the mandatory visits to all the Lodges in the jurisdiction. All things having been done, the final vote resulted in the twenty-seven Lodges under the United Grand Lodge of England in the province agreeing to form the new Grand Lodge. As well, three Lodges from the District operating under the Grand Lodge of Scotland in this province also voted to become founding member Lodges.

Saturday, November 1, 1997 was designated the big day for the consecration of the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland & Labrador and the ceremony and subsequent festivities were held at the Hotel Newfoundland, in St. John's. As the Grand Master of a Canadian Lodge said in his address "Today we complete the Family of Canadian Grand Lodges." Almost 600 Masons of all ranks were present and included representation of Grand Lodges and other related and concordant bodies of Freemasonry from many parts of the world.

The inaugural meeting and installation ceremony commenced with a Lodge consisting of Past Masters of Saint John's Lodge No. 579 Registry of England officiating, viz., Wor. Bro.'s B. J. Barrett, WM; A. G. Noftall, SW: C. E. Templeman, JW; D. B. Jeans IPM; W. R. Moores, D of C; G. R. Vokey, SD; M. G. S. Bradbury, JD; G. R. Smith, AD of C; W. R. Noel, IG; A. Grandy, Tyler. H. R. LeGrow, PM Neptune Lodge, 8465 RE, Organist. The VW Grand Director of Ceremonies, P. G. Lowndes, UGLE, was admitted and called on the escort consisting of Wor. Bro.'s D. E. J. Kelland PAGDC (Eng.); D. A. Strong, PAGDC (Eng.), both of Avalon Lodge Registry of England; R. C. Stead PDJGW; E. Snelgrove, PDJGW, both of Saint John's Lodge, Registry of England, to attend the admission of Bro. the Right Honorable Lord Burton, M. Wor. Grand Master Mason of the Grand Lodge of Scotland and his Deputation who were welcomed and saluted.

The special escort consisting of Brothers Brian H. Strickland, Lodge Cormack, SC; Donald Penney and Robert Barnes, Lodge Westmoorland, SC; Kenneth Forward, Lodge MicMac, SC, attended to the admission and reception of MW Brother the Right Honorable Lord Farnham, Pro Grand Master, United Grand Lodge of England, and his Deputation. The usual Grand Honors were accorded the Pro Grand Master and his Deputation as well as the formal welcome to all and the acceptance of the gavel by Lord Farnham who was to be the consecrating officer. He assumed the chair and appointed the following brethren to assist him in the ceremony -- MW Bro. Rae Haldane-Wilson, Grand Master, Grand Lodge of Manitoba; as Senior Grand Warden MW Bro. Richard A. H. Brown, Master, Grand Lodge of Saskatchewan; as Junior Grand Warden VW Bro. the Rev. Canon W. F. Roan, Grand Chaplin, United Grand Lodge of England, RW Bro. Cdr. M. B. S. Higham, RN, PJGW, Grand Secretary, United Grand Lodge of England; VW Bro. R. W. Cayless, Grand Organist, United Grand Lodge of England; W. Bro. Lt-Cdr. N. J. Nuttall, RN, PJGD, Grand Tyler, United Grand Lodge of England.

The ceremony proceeded with the consecration, dedication, and constitution of the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador. The consecrating officer then announced that Right Worshipful Brother Herman W. Starkes, District Grand Master, District Grand Lodge of Newfoundland, United Grand Lodge of England, had been chosen as Grand Master. The brethren of the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador confirmed their choice, which was followed by loud applause from all present. The VW Grand Director of Ceremonies formed a Deputation from the eleven senior Lodges to escort the Grand Master-Elect into the Grand Lodge. The Deputation consisted of the following Wor. Bro.'s: B. John Barrett, Saint John's Lodge No. 579; Sydney Dyke, Avalon Lodge; Gordon Abbott, Hiram Lodge; Wayne Mayo, Victoria Lodge; Kevin Kelly, Fidelity Lodge; John E. Warren, Whiteway Lodge; David Roswell, Botwood Lodge; Richard M. Rees, Clift Lodge; Lloyd G. Piercey, Corner Brook Lodge. The MW Grand Master appointed a number of brethren to Past Grand Rank including those who had been so honored by the United Grand Lodge of England in the years prior to the formation of the new Grand Lodge in this province.

Following this, the RW Grand Secretary read the messages of Greetings and Felicitations received from numerous Grand Lodges and Concordant Bodies of which many had representatives in attendance. The week of activities was brought to a close by a magnificent Grand Banquet for the brethren, ladies and guests. This provided the opportunity for all to gather together in a final round of good wishes and handshakes which actually signalled the launching of the first Grand Lodge in the newest province of Canada and the newest in North America.

On January 14, 1998 Saint John's Lodge held its first installation under the new Grand Lodge. Bro. Donald Vokey was installed by Wor. Bro. John Barrett, assisted by Past Masters of the Lodge. This installation marked the beginning of our 150th anniversary celebrations, of Saint John's Lodge No.579.

Commencement of the Running History of Saint John's Lodge No.1 as witnessed and recorded by Worshipful Brother Edward Davis, Lodge Historian, Saint John's Lodge No.1.


During the Saint John’s Lodge No. 1 meeting held at the Masonic Temple in St. John’s, NF, on June 10, 1998, the Most Wor. Grand Master, Most Wor. Bro. Herman W. Starkes, accompanied by the Rt. Wor. Deputy Grand Master, Rt. Wor. Bro. Neil M. Chaplin, presented the Lodge with its new charter from the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador A.F.& A.M.. Saint John’s Lodge began the 1998 year using its old charter, and will conclude the year using the new charter. The Lodge will indeed celebrate its 150th anniversary in proper form. The United Grand Lodge of England retired Saint John's Lodge No.579's Charter in 1998. That Charter was subsequently returned to Saint John's Lodge No.1 later in 1998, and is currently in the care of the Lodge Historian and is stored in a safe and secure location recorded and noted with the governing bodies of the Craft in this Province, at the direction of the Worshipful Master.

In 1999 Saint John’s Lodge No.1 had ten joining/rejoining members added to its rank of membership under the newly formed Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador. In October of 1999, during the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador, Most Worshipful Brother Neil M. Chaplin was installed in the office of Grand Master of that same entity. Brother Chaplin was a Past Master of Saint John’s Lodge No. 579 (his Mother Lodge) in 1974. During that same meeting, Worshipful Brother Wally Noel was presented the Order of Meritorious Service Jewel, this was the first such award ever presented by the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador to one of their own Members.

The year 2000 marked the beginning of a new century for Freemasonry in this Province and saw the return of Saint John’s Lodges’ traditional “Family Fun Day,” event. After many lamenting conversations amongst the Brethren, over the years, as to the fond memories of attending Wor. Bro. Art Noseworthy’s many annual Lodge Family Fun Day Events at his summer place in Three Island Pond; it was discussed, decided, and implemented under the direction of Bro. Keith Radford as our Junior Warden/Social Convener that we resurrect that fond tradition. On July 15th, 2000, as a result of the generosity of Bro. Mac LeMessurier , in volunteering his Staff, his Ranch, and its facilities in Blaketown, the Lodge did indeed put off a noteworthy and what would become a continuing annual event. In that same year, the Lodge performed a first degree on four candidates, simultaneously during their October regular meeting. Most Worshipful Bro. George Cull was installed as the new reigning Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador, during the November 3rd, 2000 Annual Communication.

2001 saw the amendment of the Lodges’ By Laws. The By Laws were updated to reflect the creation of the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador.
Worshipful Brother Carl Dyke, the reigning Master, generously donated those printed revisions to the Lodge. Our Lodge dues for that year remained at $100.00 per member per annum. The Brethren of Saint John's Lodge made the decision to commence fund raising to replace the Lodges Regalia due to it's decline in physical condition after almost 30 yrs of continuous use, and as well to due to the length of time that the Lodge had been in continuous operation, the Lodges' membership and it's officers had become entitled to have their regalia accented with the traditional gold edging and accents. Brother Charles (Charlie) E. Udle retired as Lodge Secretary at the end of this Lodge year, marking an end to his many years of faithful and dedicated service, as our Lodge Secretary, to the Craft in General and Saint John’s Lodge in Particular.

January 9th, 2002 saw the Installation of Worshipful Brother Keith A. Radford, a fourth generation member of the Craft in this Province for the Radford Family and the appointment of Brother Jason Whelan to the role of Lodge Secretary.  Also in that year another annual tradition was begun for the Craft in General, the Annual Masonic Charity Golf Tournament. Most Worshipful Brother Jim Tulk was installed as the Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador on October 26th, 2002.


During the March 12th, 2003 Lodge Year, with Worshipful Brother Thomas F. Lawrence in the Chair of King Solomon, Worshipful Brother Wallace Noel, OMS, gave a Notice of Motion to amend the Lodges’ annual membership dues from $100.00 to $125.00 was approved in open Lodge, to be effective for the 2004 Lodge Year. The First Colony Lodge of Installed Masters hosted a Table Lodge after Saint John’s Lodge No.1’s Regular April meeting. During the November Regular Meeting the Lodge, largely in part to the continued generosity of its Ladies Auxillary, was presented with a full set of new regalia for every office and for general use by the Membership, the cost to replace the regalia was approximately $13,000.

The Lodge also was the temporary recipient of a International Travelling Gavel, made by Very Worshipful Brother Rick Howes of Lodge Wyong Tuggerah Lakes No.247 NSW, Australia, on the 8th of January 2003,  you can read about it in the Ontario eBook on page 182 in www.travellinggavels.com.

The Masonic Hall Joint Stock Company, at the behest of the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador began to actively engage the Temple's tenants and company shareholders to pursue the concept of selling the current Masonic Temple and to either Rent or Build a new structure to house the Fraternity in this District of Avalon. The concept of fundraising to preserve the current Masonic Temple, located at 6 Cathedral Street, in St. John's, Newfoundland was actively discouraged by the Leadership of the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador. There were two locations put forth as suggestions for possible construction, initially, by the Board of the Masonic Hall Joint Stock Company Representatives. Those locations were (1) adjacent to the Shrine Club on Topsail Road or (2) somewhere within the Masonic Park facility located on Mount Carson within the City of Mount Pearl. There were many meetings, much debate, and some controversy within the Fraternity across the entire Province over this subject matter.


2004 saw Worshipful Brother Derek S. Tuck in the Chair of King Solomon. Worshipful Brother Derek had joined St. John's Lodge in 2000, and it is worthy to note his rapid advancement past the usual ranks of Lodge Officers to Junior Warden as his first year in office. The Lodge had an active social year and there was some discussion amongst the Brethren with regards to the possible sale of the Masonic Temple and the relocation needs of its owners/tenants, There was a meeting of the reigning Masters and Officers of the current Lodges, being associated with the "Masonic Hall Joint Stock Company Limited," on November 4th, 2004 at which time two scenarios were put forth for consideration by a Grand Lodge appointed Committee, for consideration by those present.  The Lodge Masters present, faced with the information as presented, voted in favour of pursuing the option of looking into selling the Masonic Temple, located on Cathedral Street, St. John's, and exploring finding a new address for continued Masonic Activities in this Area.


In 2005, Mark A. Bradbury was installed as Master of Saint John's Lodge No.1. On Jan 31, 2005, the shareholders of the MHJSC LTD., of which this Lodge was advised that it owned 12% of that company directly, met with the purpose to vote on two motions being put forth by the Board of that same privately held company. The Lodge's Worshipful Master abstained from voting on behalf of the Lodge as he felt he had not been given a clear mandate to participate in this process. The majority of the reported shareholders present voted to put the Masonic Temple up for sale, that evening. The Lodge officially appointed a Member to look into and address the concerns of the Brethren and of the Lodge during the Regular Meeting of the Brethren in February of 2005.
Saint John's Lodge introduced it's PILLAR PROGRAM in April of that year. 
There was an impromptu disciplinary meeting held by the Lodge, by decree of our Grand Lodge in early August, wherein the same February appointed Lodge Member was, unbenownst to the Lodge or the Member. found guilty of unmasonic conduct and ordered to either write an apology to the Grand Master or subject himself and possibly the Lodge to disciplinary action for appearing to be inadvertantly questioning the reasoning, actions and inactions of some of those operating under the direction of the office of the Grand Master, regarding the undertakings of the Board of the Masonic Hall Joint Stock Company Limited, the pending sale of the Masonic Temple, and the future housing needs of the Brethren being affected by the same, in carrying out the February 2005 Lodge's directive.  The appointed Lodge Officer was ordered to immediately respond, in writing, to this ruling and correspondence received by the Lodge.  It was reported that an Investigative Committee appointed by the Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador, in Gander, NL, in May of 2005 had met and received evidence that such a charge of unmasonic conduct was deemed necessary, by the Grand Master, himself.  The Brethren concerned were ordered to cease and desist any of the Lodge's original ordered inquiries into the sale of the Masonic Temple and any future housing needs of the Brethren, and to submit, as ordered, a written apology to the Reigning Grand Master for reasons not permitted to be discussed during that same disciplinary meeting, as directed by the District Grand Master of Avalon District, who was also present during that same disciplinary meeting.  In an effort to preserve the reputation of the Grand Master's Office in Particular and to maintain Harmony within the Craft in General, the Brother complied as demanded.
In August the Grand Lodge of Newfoundland and Labrador struck a new committee of Reigning Masters and Principle Officers (RMPO), in conjunction with the District Grand Lodge of Scotland in Newfoundland and Labrador, to better gauge and control the feelings and concerns of the Brethren within the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador over the sale of the historic Masonic Temple and the commencement of the Freemasons Hall Initiative. The Lodge's Membership enjoyed a vibrant social life, the highlight of which was the traditional, Saint John's Lodge Lady's Night, held in November of that same year.


In January of 2006 Brother Edward W.G. (Ted) Davis was placed in the Chair of King Soloman as the Worshipful Master of Saint John's Lodge No.1 by Most Worshipful Brother Donald Newell, assisted by Brother Davis' Father-In-Law, Worshipful Brother James Radford.  Lodge Finances, Investments, the sale/terms of sale of the Masonic Temple, the subsequent MHJSC LTD., Leasing Agreement of the Masonic Temple to house the Brethren in the interim, concerns regarding actions of the 2006 MAZOL Shrine Divan against the Lodge and the numerous financing and building planning meetings/scenarios with regards to the Freemasons Hall project, took precedent in Lodge Life. This was the last full year that the Lodge spent housed within The Masonic Temple.  All of The Lodge's social events/traditions were held, honoured, and well attended.


In 2007 Worshipful Brother Todd S. Miller became the last Master of Saint John's Lodge No.1 to be installed within the Masonic Temple. At the Order of the Grand Master, Saint John's Lodge No.1 vacated the Masonic Temple and was relocated to the Community Centre within Masonic Park, Senior Citizen Complex. Several Brethren volunteered their homes as temporary storage facilities for the Lodge's Property. The Lodge rallied to the challenges of our new surroundings, and careful attention was paid to the cataloging, shifting, and storage of the Lodge's property and belongings, so much so that when complaints of inappropriate action by the Lodge's appointed representatives were registered with the Grand Master, the Lodge and the Lodge's Property Committee were successful in their defence of the Lodge's Property Committee.  The Grand Master ordered the Grand Secretary to issue a notice to the head of the Property Committee that they and the Lodge were resolved of the charges levied against them. The Lodge continued meeting in the Seniors Recreation Centre, adjacent to the work sheds in the Masonic Park Senior Citizen Park in Mount Pearl, NL. During the June meeting The Brethren of Saint John's Lodge No.1 gave $11,000 of Lodge's general funds to assist with the Freemasons Hall's $800,000 fundraising goal, with the intent to push the goal "over the top," in order to offset the initial construction costs of Freemasons Hall, in Mount Pearl, NL. During that same meeting, WB Edward Davis and WB James Radford put a motion to the floor of the Lodge, which was successfully voted on, enabling the Lodge to contribute an additional $10,000 of general Lodge funds to this same project in the form of a syndicated loan towards the construction/operations of Freemasons Hall, pending the disclosure of various details and several conditions being considered and met. The actual timing and method of this contribution is to be put to a vote at some time in the future (suggested to be late in 2008, to coincide with the maturity date of some of the Lodge's investments).  The Lodge had a busy Social Calendar that year with Worshipful Brother William Radford at the Social Committee helm, as Junior Warden. Unfortunately, the last traditional Lodge Lady's Night to be held in the Masonic Temple, for the Members of Saint John's Lodge No.1, was cancelled at the request of the regining Grand Master so as to not conflict with the consecration night of the newly formed University Lodge.


In 2008, with a last minute reshuffling of the Principal Lodge's Officer line up, Saint John's Lodge No. 1 saw the return of Worshipful Brother Glendon Vokey to the Master's Chair, Most Worshipful Brother Herman Starkes assumed the role of Senior Warden and Worshipful Brother Mark G.S. Bradbury, was seated in the Junior Warden's chair of Saint John's Lodge No.1.  Worshipful Brother Vokey and his Officers Installation Night was held in the Masonic Chapel, of Masonic Park, Mount Pearl, NL.  The Lodge's Lewis was on display that evening, but has been missing since that day.  Prior to the Lodge's Regular February Meeting, WB Vokey's first order of business, was the transference of an additional $10,000 of the Lodge's Funds towards the "Freemasons Hall" Initiative.  The Lodge enjoyed a busy Social year, however, Lady's Night was once again cancelled due to disinterest.  The Brethren of Saint John's Lodge No.1 held their first meeting within Freemasons Hall during their May 14th, 2008  Meeting.  Lodge Tasker No. 454, under the District Grand Lodge of Scotland was delegated to be the first Lodge to hold a meeting in the New Hall, during the month of April, 2008.  Photo below depicting some Past Masters wearing Grand Lodge Regalia as the locks had been ordered changed at the Park's storage facility and the regular officers regalia was inaccessible at the time of the consecration.


2009 and 2010 saw Very Worshipful Brother Mark G.S. Bradbury return to the Chair of King Solomon, for a two year term, within Saint John's Lodge No.1, effectively making him the only living Master to currently have served three terms in the Chair of King Soloman, within Saint John's Lodge No.1.
2009 January Installation of the Officers of Saint John's Lodge No.1

2010 January Installation of the Officers of Saint John's Lodge No.1


















2011 saw Very Worshipful Brother Derek Jeans placed in the Chair of King Solomon, within Saint John's Lodge No.1 for the second time in his Masonic Career.  Being the brilliant ritualist he was known to be, Brother Jeans made the operation of the Master's Chair look effortless during Lodge Meeting Nights.

























2012 Worshipful Brother Tony Collins was placed in the Chair of Saint John's Lodge.  No sooner was our Worshipful Master placed in the Chair of King Soloman when the Lodge was rocked with the news of Very Worshipful Brother Derek Jeans sudden passing on January 31, 2012.  September 12, 2012 the Lodge was once again saddened with the news of another passing.  Our Lodge's eldest active Member, Worshipful Brother Wallace Robert Noel laid down his working tools at the age of 90 years.  His knowledge of the Craft and wisdom of the ages preserved in all those privileged to have worked with him, since his raising in 1949.



2013 Worshipful Brother Ron Rose was placed in the Chair of Saint John's Lodge No.1.  The Lodge was saddened to hear of the sudden passing of Worshipful Brother Glendon Vokey, on May 25, 2013.



2014 Worshipful Brother Dan Noseworthy was placed into the Chair of Saint John's Lodge No.1.  The Lodge enjoyed a vibrant social calendar and many enjoyable evenings of profit and pleasure, the highlight of which surely was the October Road trip to Grand Bank, Fidelity Lodge.  
A weekend of Profit and Pleasure was had by all in attendance and the Host Lodge spared no quarter, when it came to entertaining their guests.

2015 Worshipful Brother Fred Allen was placed into the Chair of Saint John's Lodge No.1.

















2016 Worshipful Brother Stephen Vokey was placed into the Chair of Saint John's Lodge No.1



2017 Worshipful Brother Bill Roule was placed into the Chair of Saint John's Lodge No. 1
















~
Some interesting statistics about Saint John’s Lodge No.1 include the fact that the two Worshipful Brethren who ruled the office of Deputy Provincial Grand Master for Newfoundland were Wor. Bro. Patrick Tasker and Wor. Bro. James S. Clift, both of whom were Past Masters of Saint John's Lodge. Of the ten Right Worshipful brethren who held the office of Rt. Wor. District Grand Master, five were Past Masters of Saint John's Lodge, with the first being Rt. Wor. Bro. James. S. Clift and the last being Rt. Wor. Bro. Herman. W. Starkes.

2018 Worshipful Master, RWB Harry Vokey was placed into the Chair of Saint John's Lodge No.1 for his second term (Previous Master 1999)

2019 Worshipful Master, Worshipful Brother Donald Vokey was placed into the Chair of Saint John's Lodge No.1 for his second term (Previous Mastership 1998)


Saint John's Lodge List of Past Masters 1848 -1948


1848 ~ S. G. Archibald
1849 ~ Oliver Goldsmith
1850 ~ Captain W. Jenkins
1851 ~ Alex Fraser
1852 ~ Captain W. Jenkins
1853 ~ Oliver Goldsmith

1854 ~ Patrick Tasker
1855 ~ Captain Martin Petrie
1856 / 1857 ~ Patrick Tasker
1858 ~ Robert Prowse
1859 / 1860 ~ J. S. Clift
1861 / 1862 ~ John Mortimer
1863 / 1864 ~ N. S. Stabb
1865 / 1866 ~ Major C. Wright
1867 / 1868 ~ R. T. Rankin
1869 ~ J. S. Hayward
1870 ~ Moses Monroe
1871 / 1872 ~ C. S. Pinsent
1873 ~ R. T. Rankin
1874 ~ Aubyn Pearce
1875 ~ G. G. Geddes
1876 / 1877 ~ A. J. W. McNeily
1878 ~ Reverend J. Phelps
1879 / 1880 ~ James Rodger
1881 ~ Moses Monroe
1882 ~ Henry Cooke
1883 /1884 ~ E. Hancock
1885 / 1886 John Pye
1887 / 1888 J. Augustus Clift
1889 ~ Robert Lawrie
1890 ~ James Rodger
1891 ~ J. Augustus Clift
1892 / 1893 ~ F. J. W. Rendell
1894 / 1895 ~ G. S. Milligan
1896 / 1897 ~ E. Chapman
1898 / 1899 ~ J. R. Bennett
1900 ~ William Martin
1901 ~ W. C. Radford
1902 / 1903 ~ J. A. Robinson
1904 ~ S. D. Blandford
1905 ~ W. C. Radford
1906 / 1907 ~ William N. Gray
1908 / 1909 ~ W. J. Edgar
1910 ~ J. H. Thomas
1911 / 1912 ~ J. S. Currie
1913 / 1914 ~ R. A. Brehm
1915 ~ R. A. Squires
1916 ~ F. E. Rendell
1917 ~ Gower Rabbitts
1918 ~ R. W. Jeans
1919 ~ W. G. Currie
1920 ~ Cluney Macpherson
1921 ~ W. H. Parsons
1922 / 1923 ~ E. S. Pinsent
1924 ~ Thos. Soper
1925 ~ P. B. Rendell
1926 ~ F. R. Clark
1927 ~ H. A. Dawe
1928 ~ J. A. W. W. McNeily
1929 ~ F. J. Wornell
1930 ~ A. L. Smith
1931 ~ S. G. Soper
1932 ~ J. G. Taylor
1933 ~ F. J Wornell
1934 ~ G. G. Hibbs
1935 ~ F. R. Clark
1936 ~ C. L Macpherson
1937 ~ H. G. Downton
1938 ~ E. C. MacDonald
1939 ~ C. Noonan
1940 / 1941 ~ W. Halfyard
1942 ~ J.R. Chalker
1943 ~ R.C. Wells
1944 ~ R.B Moyse
1945 ~ H.D Roberts
1946 ~ K.C. Skuce
1947 ~ A.G. Miles
1948 ~ W.F. Case

Saint John's Masters and their Wardens, from 1949 - 2007
Year /Date Installed /Worshipful Master/Senior Warden /Junior Warden

(* implies that term of office was incomplete)
1949 Dec 29, 1948 R.W. Moore R.L. Andrews A.G. Dewling
1950 Dec 27, 1949 R.L. Andrews A.G. Dewling C.W. Powell
1951 Dec 27, 1950 A.G. Dewling H.G.H. Downton F.L. Woods
1952 Dec 29, 1951 H.G.H. Downton F.L. Woods E.J. Noonan
1953 Dec 29, 1952 F.L. Woods E.J. Noonan F.C. Cornick
1954 Dec 28, 1953 E.J. Noonan F.C. Cornick C.V. LeMessurier
1955 Dec 28, 1954 F.C. Cornick C.V. LeMessurier C.H. Rowe
1956 Dec 27, 1955 C.V. LeMessurier C.H. Rowe R.J.M. Noel
1957 Dec 27, 1956 C.H. Rowe R.J.M. Noel R.C. Day
1958 Dec 27, 1957 R.J.M. Noel R.C. Day M. Squires
1959 Dec 29, 1958 R.C. Day M. Squires B.M. Jeans
1960 Dec 28, 1959 M. Squires B.M. Jeans H. Porter
1961 Dec 27, 1960 B.M. Jeans H. Porter A.C. Rees
1962 Dec 27, 1961 H. Porter A.C. Rees W.G. Green
1963 Dec 27, 1962 A.C. Rees W.G. Green W.R. Noel
1964 Dec 27, 1963 A.C. Rees W.R. Noel R.T. Abbott
1965 Dec 28, 1964 W.R. Noel R.T. Abbott G. Strickland
1966 Dec 27, 1965 R.T. Abbott A.E. Noseworthy D.G. Porter
1967 Jan 11, 1967 A.E. Noseworthy D.G. Porter G.W. Sellars
1968 Jan 10, 1968 D.G. Porter G.W. Sellars R.W. Keets
1969 Jan 8, 1969 G.W. Sellars R.W. Keets E. Snelgrove
1970 Jan 14, 1970 R.W. Keets E. Snelgrove R.C. Stead
1971 Jan 13, 1971 E. Snelgrove R.C. Stead H.C.C. Macpherson
1972 Jan 12, 1972 R.C. Stead H.C.C. Macpherson N.M. Chaplin
1973 Jan 10, 1973 H.C.C. Macpherson N.M. Chaplin C.W.Noseworthy
1974 Jan 9, 1974 N.M. Chaplin C.W.Noseworthy E. Snelgrove
1975 Jan 14, 1975 C.W.Noseworthy E. Snelgrove G.A. Campbell
1976 Jan 13, 1976 E. Snelgrove G.A. Campbell J.A. Radford
1977 Jan 12, 1977 G.A. Campbell J.A. Radford A.G. Noftall
1978 Jan 11, 1978 J.A. Radford A.G. Noftall H.W. Starkes
1979 Jan 12, 1979 A.G. Noftall H.W. Starkes C.C. Keats
1980 Jan 9, 1980 H.W. Starkes C.C. Keats A. Grandy
1981 Jan 14, 1981 C.C. Keats A. Grandy W.S. Radford
1982 Jan 13, 1982 A. Grandy W.S. Radford C.C. Pelley
1983 Jan 12, 1983 W.S. Radford C.C. Pelley C.E. Templeman
1984 Jan 11, 1984 C.C. Pelley C.E. Templeman G.S. Fiander

1985 Jan 9, 1985 C.E. Templeman G.S. Fiander W.R. Moores
1986 Jan 8, 1986 G.S. Fiander W.R. Moores J. Starkes
1987 Jan 14, 1987 W.R. Moores H.M. Locke A.C. Baldwin
1988 Jan 10, 1988 H.M. Locke A.C. Baldwin S.C. Windsor
1989 Jan 11, 1989 A.C. Baldwin S.C. Windsor G.R. Vokey
1990 Jan 10, 1990 S.C. Windsor G.R. Vokey D.C. Stead
1991 Jan 9, 1991 G.R. Vokey D.C. Stead G.R. Smith
1992 Jan 8, 1992 D.C. Stead G.R. Smith S.W. Evans
1993 Jan 13, 1993 G.R. Smith S.W. Evans M.G.S. Bradbury
1994 Jan 12, 1994 S.W. Evans M.G.S. Bradbury D.B. Jeans
1995 Jan 11, 1995 M.G.S. Bradbury D.B. Jeans B.J. Barrett
1996 Jan 10, 1996 D.B. Jeans B.J. Barrett W.D. Vokey
1997 Jan 9, 1997 B.J. Barrett W.D. Vokey H.F. Vokey
1998 Jan 14, 1998 W.D. Vokey H.F. Vokey R.A. Cole
Year Wor. Master Senior Warden Junior Warden
1999 Jan, Harry Vokey, R.A. Cole, C.H. Dyke
2000 Jan, R.A. Cole, C.H. Dyke, K.A. Radford
2001 Jan, C.H. Dyke, K.A. Radford, T.F. Lawrence

2002 Jan, K.A. Radford, T.F. Lawrence, D.S. Tuck

2003 Jan, T.F. Lawrence, D.S. Tuck, M.A. Bradbury

2004 Jan, D.S. Tuck, M.A. Bradbury, E.W.G. Davis

2005 Jan, M.A. Bradbury, E.(Ted)W.G. Davis, T.S. Miller

2006 Jan, Edward (Ted)W.G. Davis, T.S. Miller, M.G.S. Bradbury
(Note: *H.F. Vokey resigned as Senior Warden in the early Spring of 2007)
2007, Jan, Todd S. Miller, *H.F. Vokey, W.S. Radford
2008, Jan, Glendon Vokey, Mark G. S. Bradbury, Herman S. Starkes
(No Photo on File)
2009, Jan, Mark G.S. Bradbury, Herman S. Starkes, Tony Collins
2010, Jan, Mark G.S. Bradbury, Tony Collins, Fred Allen

2011, Jan, Derek Jeans, Fred Allen, Ron Rose
2012, Jan, Tony Collins, Ron Rose, Dan Noseworthy

2013, Jan, Ron Rose, Dan Noseworthy, Mark G.S. Bradbury


2014, Jan, Dan Noseworthy, Fred Allen, Stephen Vokey


2015, Jan, Fred Allen, Stephen Vokey, William Roule

2016, Jan, Stephen Vokey, William (Bill)Roule, Harry Vokey

2017 Jan 11. William (Bill) Roule, Harry Vokey, Tony Collins




2018 Jan 10, RWB Harry Vokey, WB Donald Vokey, Brother Curtis White* (*did not complete term in Office)

2019 Jan 9, 2019, RWB Donald Vokey, Fred Allen, Roger Benson

2020 Jan 8 - RWB Donald Vokey, Ed Jarvis, Mark Baldwin


 March 11th, 2020 was the last Regular Meeting of the Brethren of Saint John's Lodge No.1, within the Lodge Room of Freemasons Hall due to COVID-19 Pandemic Protocols being implemented by the GL of NL.  Saint John's Lodge No.1 continued to meet and hold Social functions, via various online Skype/ZOOM/Webex features that were available up until Oct 14th, 2020. where and when they held their first meeting in the Banquet Room of Freemasons Hall.  The Lodge utilized it's original Lodge Furnishings from the Masonic Temple and shared these furnishings with the other Lodges in the area so that they could continue to spread and cement the bonds of Fraternity, throughout the Pandemic.  There was a restriction of 27 Brethren allowed to attend these meetings, with no Visitors permitted.




2021 Jan 9 - Emergent Meeting, RWB Donald Vokey Installed WB Ed Javis as Master of Saint John's Lodge No. 1.


2021 Jan 13 Regular Officers were invested without social contact, due to ongoing COVID-19 Pandemic Protocols being in effect.  RWB Donald Vokey had vacated the Chair of the Lodge, Oct 2020, in order to accept the appointment as Deputy GM of the GL of NL.  In his absence, VWB Dan Noseworthy and RWB Don Vokey had taken turns filling the role.

The Lodge is thus far, unable to utilize the normal meeting rooms and other areas of the Freemasons Hall Facility, due to COVID-19 Restrictions being imposed by the GL of NL.   Access to Lodge Property, Mail received at Freemasons Hall and Regalia stored on site, is restricted.  Social Distancing and Mask wearing protocols are being observed by the Brethren and the GL of NL has made many innovations regarding Masonic Protocol/Ritual to allow Lodges to continue the business of the Craft in NL, Canada.